PDA

View Full Version : ENCLOSED Vegetable garden

CmoreROOTS
07-05-2009, 02:17 PM
Anyone ever enclose their vegetable garden? I live in Florida and we have lots of harmful bugs, insects and animals that get in and eat and destroy our vegetable gardens. Since I am totally NEW to planting vegetables I was wondering why I can not use this type of structure similar to a butterfly house except instead of screen it has 1" hardware cloth at the sides and top so good buggies can fly in, to enclose my raised beds. Also when I set up my raised beds I am planning on six 4' X 4' X 18" raised frames. We will dig out or kill by solarizing the soil, then adding a layer of landscape cloth followed by 1/2 the soil, followed by a layer of hardware cloth then the last of the soil. The purpose of this is to keep any digging and burrowing nasties OUT. I also plan on installing drip and micro spray systems for each of the 6 raised beds.

Anyone who wants to see the type of enclosed structure I am talking about you can see it on my blog http://rankin-file.blogspot.com/ this was one we used to enclose some berry bushes.

Please let me know what you think about all my plans.

nandmsmom
07-05-2009, 09:11 PM
Certain things would probably do well in an enclosed type system. It would probably end up being a situation like a green house or having row covers on. The problem would be with anything that needs to be pollinated. Hand pollination only goes so far. There also seems to be a difference in things that get real sun and rain, they just grow better and thus taste better.

SimplyForties
07-06-2009, 12:50 AM
I do it to keep deer out. Bees would have no trouble with hardware cloth.

If you scroll down on this post you can see my deer deterrent cages -

http://www.simplyforties.com/2009/06/bad-day-on-farm.html

In my case they are covered in chicken wire. The sides roll up so I can work in the beds and then roll back down to keep the deer out. It's been very effective.

Sinfonian