PDA

View Full Version : starting tomatoe plants

James
11-04-2009, 01:38 PM
Yes thats right I Am starting some tomatoe plants ( Beefsteak) But I have had really poor results getting the plants to grow right, Any pointers. And Yes I can admit when I don't know something. We do have 300 plus day growing season. These plants will be in A bed next to the house.

Kevin
11-04-2009, 02:52 PM
Yes thats right I Am starting some tomatoe plants ( Beefsteak) But I have had really poor results getting the plants to grow right, Any pointers. And Yes I can admit when I don't know something. We do have 300 plus day growing season. These plants will be in A bed next to the house.

hey James , Growing toms in the south can be a bit of a challenge with our heat . I'm Down here in Tampa and our temps here are still in the 80's and low 90's. I'm no expert ,but I can tell you how I grow them here . I don't even try and grow them in our summer here. I usually start my seeds at the end of august or early september. I soak the seeds for two days , and then sow them , several hundred at a time in shallow trays. Once they develop their first true leaves I divide them and then plant in individual pots. I also use a soiless mix in these trays and pots ,you don't want problems with damping off.Usually right after thanksgiving our weather will cool off and I then plant the seedlings in 5 gallon buckets using regular garden dirt and compost. I use the buckets so that, on the odd night we do get a freeze ,I can bring them indoors.Hope this helps. Good Luck, Kevin

James
11-05-2009, 01:00 PM
I had soaked the seeds, then put them on A damp paper towel, now that was 5 days ago, I know have 12 out of 15 seeds with roots and starting to grow. So I planted them into A New mini greenhouse that holds 12 cells.I have not given up on the other seeds, As I have several wildflower seeds in the container to sprout too.Will update later. Thanks Kevin. I thought I was on the right track.

gardengirl72