PDA

View Full Version : Advice re tractors on raised beds please.

karen33
11-18-2009, 07:35 AM
I have two silkie bantams (pets) in a chicken tractor that I would like to rotate on our 4 raised vegetable beds. I'm hoping you can advise me how long I could have the tractor on each bed before moving and then how long I would have to wait until I can plant vegies in the bed once tractor has been moved. As I only have 4 beds, I could place them on my lawn for short periods of time if required (I presume 2 little silkies wouldn't cause too much damage!?) Your advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

Fred's Fine Fowl
11-18-2009, 06:48 PM
Hi Karen,

I think Patti may have better answers for you specifically regarding the raised bed issues...

What I can tell you is my own method for chicken droppings and gardening...

I have a veggie garden that I've been amending and improving for 9 years without rotating my crops. I am not rotating crops, as I wish to see when and if the soil becomes depleted and can no longer sustain the things I grow.

Here is my method...
Every fall (now) I cover my garden, which is approximately 175 feet in circumference, with chicken droppings. When I say chicken droppings, this means pine shavings mixed with feathers, mixed with chicken manure which is dry. I have approximately 130 adult birds which are kept in three separate coops on what's known as a "deep litter system".

I allow the mix to remain on top of the turned in garden throughout winter.
When the soil is dry enough in spring to be worked, I till in the mix and go straight into planting my seasonal crops.

After crops emerge/germinate and are tall enough not to be buried, I clean out the coops again and leave this mix on top of the soil as weed prevention and moisture retention. It seems to disappear gradually throughout summer as earth worms draw down the surface material.