PDA

View Full Version : 5th grade teacher w/urban experience

Rich Fitch
01-19-2010, 07:00 PM
Hello, everybody,

I bet northeast people like me are poring over catalogs during this spat of winter weather longing for spring. Truly magical and miserable at the same time.

I teach fifth grade in MA, and I have been teaching gardening with kids for 21 years. I'm an avid gardener at home who believes in sustainable living. I'm lucky to live outside of the city where a more rural environment allows me to live with nature. My school gardening areas in the city are usually a mix of easy vegetables and easy flowers. I've tried to plant low maintenance things that can withstand drought and overall neglect. I've done cultural gardening as well. Peppers (chiles) and basils especially. Kids love it when they can connect home and school with culinary crops.

I've switched schools where my opportunities have decreased to about an area of 400 square feet. The area is a curb-raised area along a sidewalk. I see two things when I conceptualize this area-1) a perennial/annual mixed "border," or 2) a mixed easy vegetable garden, (maybe beans, squash/pumpkin, basil, etc.). Irrigation may be a problem. I think I'm going to let the kids choose.

I get a BEAUTIFUL amount of compost from my friends at Rock Pile Organics in Westminster. I beg and borrow supplies. I have a three tiered indoor light system that is phenominal. My students have ALWAYS learned taking care of plants is taking care of the soil. I have a good inventory of spade-tipped shovels, garden rakes, forks, and other hand tools.

My biggest challenge is having people join me. My colleagues don't see the benefit of gardening in the curriculum. I've tried... Really...

I hope I can maintain my enthusiasm (and energy) to continue gardening with kids. My email at school is maynardr@fitchburg.k12.ma.us. I'm looking forward to sharing ideas and opportunities.

Regards,

Rich

gardengirl72
01-19-2010, 08:37 PM