PDA

View Full Version : Do the hens need to roost? where do they in the tractor?

marlaynaisbell
01-22-2010, 12:42 PM
Greetings Garden Girl-

I want to ask a question about the chicken tractor that you sit in top of your 4x8 raised garden beds. I am wondereing where the girls roost? I am new to this, and from what I have read & seen in other coop/tractor designs there is a pole where the chickens rest at night. Do you have a seperate coop that you put them in at night to roost, or do they just stay in the tractor on top of the bed all the time & sleep on the "ground"/ garden bed floor?

Thank you so much in advance for an answer to my question-

Sincerely,
Marlayna Isbell

Fred's Fine Fowl
01-23-2010, 12:38 PM
I can't speak for other designs and end purposes with every chicken tractor system.

I've visited many different chicken coops, houses and barns... viewing nearly every imaginable setup.

I've seen birds litter raised... with no roost at all and they simply sit on the substrate they are provided with. Show chickens... a really confined existence for sure, never roost and are often caged throughout their lives... they appear healthy and seem content. (not how my own birds are handled)

My portable chicken system has roosts out in the open area, as well as inside the roost closure which provides shelter and safety throughout the night and against heavy weather. My coops and other buildings also have roosting areas and perches of varying diameters...

Everyone will probably have an opinion about this and some may be offended at the very idea that hey do not have their birds best interest at the fore...

Sooo, let's do an experiment... provide a system which has both deep litter and roosts and see where the chickens go on their own? You'll see the roosting bars filled and only the heaviest birds which are unable to fly up to the perches... remaining on the ground.