PDA

View Full Version : New to this forum

slystr
03-16-2010, 04:47 PM
Hello,
My name is Slystr and I'm an urban self sufficiency fan. I live in Dallas TX with my husband and daughter (11), a cat and 2 guinea pigs. We had a flock of Delaware chickens until last June when they were killed by feral dogs in the neighborhood. My garden had been abandoned for the past 2 years due to some life challenges but I'm back in the saddle this year. The in ground plot is in need of drastic measures to reclaim it (I have to Round Up the bermuda grass:( ) so I have started several boxes of veggies in milk crates I have been toting around for the past 30 years. One can never have too many milk crates.
I'm really excited to find this forum and hope to get to know many of you in the next few weeks.

MoniDew
03-17-2010, 01:59 PM
we are so delighted to have you here.

may I suggest an alternative to the round-up? Perhaps you could cover with layers of cardboard and old newspaper and attempt a lasagna garden? It would be a much more sustainable alternative to the chemically intensive approach.

slystr
03-17-2010, 05:15 PM
Monica,
I have tried that and all I got was a garden full of cardboard and bermuda grass. This stuff is tenacious and wicked. It is against my nature to use Round-up, but I want to use this plot for gardening vegetables, not Bermuda grass. This plot was originally a lasagna bed but the bermuda broke through and took over despite my best efforts. I have asked on several forums and the concensus is that Bermuda is almost impossible to irradicate with out intensive methods. I've even asked at the local Master Gardeners Organic help desk and given the extent of my problem, their suggestion was Glyphsote (round up) then procede with the lasagna process. This is what I have to contend with.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v230/slystr/100_1261.jpg
Thanks for your suggestion though. I hate to use the stuff, but I kinda have no choice.

gardengirl72
03-17-2010, 07:40 PM