PDA

View Full Version : Gardening in SouthEast Arizona!

gardennurse
09-18-2010, 05:36 AM
Hi Everyone,
I have been gardening for a few years now. Nothing crazy just a small plot here and there but i constantly find myself overwehlmed everyyear come the middle of summer with weeds and bugs and going out to manually water! So this coming spring I am going to start gardening in raised beds with a drip system and I am so excited. I have been planning it for weeks and will most likely keep making changes until the garden is acutally here. I have read some of the post here and feel like you all have a lot to offer when it comes to information and experience. I hope to pick your brains for ideas because I have tons of questions! My biggest challenge right now is deciding which plants to grow and how much space to give each plant. I am going off the square foot method but i have heard that some people find they have better success with a little more spacing when it comes to specific plants and varieties.

I can't wait to get started!....is it spring again yet?
gardennurse

gardengirl72
09-18-2010, 10:38 AM
Welcome to the boards! Please ask any questions you have.

Backyard Permaculture
09-21-2010, 12:08 AM
Hello GardenNurse

I also live in SE Arizona, St David in Cochise County to be specific.

Where are you at?

Ron

gardengirl72
12-09-2010, 08:06 PM
Please tell us a little bit about gardening in SE Arizona. Do you have any pictures of your garden?

sumisu
01-10-2011, 09:21 PM
Gardennurse, good luck with your new garden.

I've been gardening for 30 years, but it was not until 2006 when I began taking it very seriously.

In five gardening seasons, I have learned that trial and error rules my garden. What are the best perennials to plant to attract bees, how to space them, when to divide them?