PDA

View Full Version : Ever Consider Keeping Honey Bees?

Fred's Fine Fowl
10-29-2008, 08:44 AM
This is the beginning of my third year of keeping honey bees...

Though I am studying them at every turn and have joined the Northwestern Beekeepers Association, I'm far from an expert. Want an eye opener? Rent, buy or borrow the video "Silence of the Bees"... it's very telling. I also travelled with the PA Region One Honey Bee Inspector to document honey bee hive conditions.. You can see those photos on this web page: http://www.frederickdunn.com/photoprojects.html please scroll down to the bottom of this web page.

Also, the good old book, Silent Spring, could have been written last year, considering its description and warnings of and about our honey bee populations. Most of those on this site are concentrated on growing fruits and veggies. Ever consider how many of those you would have without the honey bee?

I'm fortunate enough to be currently involved in a bee research program. This deals with survivor bees, those which survive year after year, without chemical treatments, nor anti-biotics. Large apiaries have so much invested in their colonies, that they can't be convinced to allow a die-off, in order to continue with the survivors (naturally stronger lines of bees). So, they treat-treat-treat, with apistan and everything possible, to keep bees from the varroa mites and other diseases, resulting in a weaker honey bee line. I don’t need to keep up on all the latest synthetic treatments, if I use none of them.

This year, I have hives with the VSH (Varroa Sensitive Hygiene) queens and workers. They come from stock, completely free of chemical intervention. If they discover “any” issue with one of their hive mates, they remove them immediately… there-in lies their defense. Hygienic bees don’t allow mites nor other invaders and they groom a lot!

A stronger, naturally resistant line of honey bees should be the end result.