PDA

View Full Version : Any Small Business Owners here?

MoniDew
11-12-2008, 10:56 AM
Hi!

I was just wondering if there were any fellow small business owners on these boards. I own a small flavored tea business. (Any tea lovers?) You can find me at My Cup of Tea (http://www.mycupoftea.net) (Holiday teas are now available! (http://www.mycupoftea.net/holidayteacollection.htm)) :wink:

I think it would be fun to promote and support eachother's small businesses. An equitable exchange, wouldn't you say?

Backyard Permaculture
11-12-2008, 02:38 PM
Yes I am a small business owner. I am a custom cabinetmaker/furnituremaker with 30 years Professional experience. I work out of my home in a small town in SE Arizona, 16 miles away from the imfamous OK Corral in Tombstone AZ.

I am also struggling to get a market garden going in the area, listed on local harvest at http://www.localharvest.org/farms/M13631

Presently selling pastured eggs and, if the freezes haven't killed them yet, vine ripened tomatoes

Ron

MoniDew
11-15-2008, 10:05 PM
That's fantastic, Ron! I wish I lived close enough to become a steady customer! There's nothing better than an organic, free-range egg! YUM!

MoniDew
11-15-2008, 10:09 PM
I had to make a VERY difficult decision regarding my small business. So far, I have been selling my own teas. But the economy has got my business struggling. And I had to choose between stubornly defending my own brand and feeding my family. In the end, I chose my family - which I am sure is the right thing to do. But that means that I now will be selling commercial teas alongside my own. The quality, of course, will never be as good as my own. But people are more familiar with the brands, and therefore may buy more. Wish me success with my little business!

Sinfonian
11-16-2008, 07:40 PM
Best of luck to you. We love tea and try to shop locally whenever possible. Sorry to hear you had to expand beyond your own creations. I hope that difficult decision makes it work for you!