PDA

View Full Version : Raw food Diet

gardengirl72
12-27-2008, 06:00 PM
Does anyone have any experience with the raw food diet? I have been trying to move in that direction and during the growing season it is much easier for me, but now during the holidays its impossible. It's also difficult for me because my family won't even attempt it with me. Any thoughts?

Cynthia
12-28-2008, 12:52 PM
Patti,
the raw foods I have experienced were incredible. You might look into macrobiotic recipes as well because they are definitely less processed.

There were some gorgeous cookbooks that came out a few years back. I am an avid and excellent cook, but I found the prep to be much longer than I was willing to do. Extremely long ingredient lists, etc -

I know there are many more user friendly recipes now, and very interesting combos of foods that give you taste and texture.

I've had fun eating things right off the vine in the garden - one happy discovery is how delicious kale is when the leaves are young - it doesn't need to cook to be tender it is just delicious. Ditto with baby chard.

My only question, for myself, is that I think some nutrients, in some foods, are more available to the body when food is even slightly cooked.

I would love to hear your experiences and what recipes you try.

MoniDew
12-28-2008, 01:03 PM
Patti,

As you know, I am a retired nutritionist/naturopath. I used to teach and write extensively on raw/living foods. (I have actually been fired, twice, from two different places, at two different times in my life for teaching on the subject. Not for teaching it WRONG, mind you, but for teaching it PERIOD! Oklahoma is still quite backward. No wonder I'm retired!)

If I can help, please let me know. Just don't fire me! LOL! ;-)

gardengirl72
12-30-2008, 05:18 PM