PDA

View Full Version : Hello from NC

Lisa
03-29-2009, 12:41 PM
Hello.

I wish to thank Patty for providing this forum, and resources.

My name is Lisa, and live in Eastern North Carolina.

There's a garden in the back, and six hens and one rooster.

Hoping to make lots of improvements through this Spring, so I'll be reading, and have lots of questions!

Lisa

ecogirl
03-30-2009, 02:54 AM
Welcome! I am not a expert at chickens so I can't really understand hens and roosters! Aren't they the same?

Sinfonian
03-30-2009, 09:45 AM
Welcome Lisa! Sounds like you already have your feet wet with your sustainability efforts. Great. I bet we can all learn from each other.

And as for not speaking chicken, don't worry, if anyone can, it's Fred!

Welcome and don't let your questions go unanswered.

plantoneonme
03-30-2009, 03:35 PM
Welcome Lisa, hope you have time to read through some of the previous postings....you will find a wealth of information. Kim

Fred's Fine Fowl
03-30-2009, 05:47 PM
Hi and welcome to the Message board!

I'd like to take this opportunity to clear up some terms associated with chickens so everyone can talk... well, "chicken" on the same page (">

First... ah, let's start at conception, chickens mate for like 1 second and the female is fertile for around two weeks after a single mating.

Within the egg, the disc where the germ cells develop after fertilization is the blastoderm.

Second... blastoderm develops into the chick embryo...

Third... Embryo develops into a chick and hatches at or around 21 days fully fluffed and ready to roll...

Fourth... Out of the shell until the sixth week of age, they are all chicks, male or female...

Fifth... At six weeks of age, the males are now cockerels (immature male) an the hens are pullets (immature female)

Sixth... At one year of age you now have a hen (female) and a rooster/cock (male)

They remain hens and roosters for the remainder of their lives.