gardengirl72
04-06-2009, 10:36 AM
Welcome and thanks for your support!

VanillaGorilla
04-06-2009, 09:13 PM
Kim, Patti,

Thanks for the welcome.

Kim,

I'm a newbie to gardening. I've been a competitive powerlifter and private strength trainer for about 10 years and I eat like one (a powerlifter that is...lol). I've decided to try to improve my diet by adding more veggies to it.

I was at the grocery store with my wife Kat recently and I was actually paying attention to the scanner for once as everything was being rang (rung?) up and I noticed that my favorite veggie, tomatoes, came up to just a few cents under $12 for a half dozen of them.
I thought to myself that it was kinda nuts to pay that much and since I have a huge back yard, I might as well give it a go growing my own goodies...so here I am.

I'm about a month into it and most of my garden is from transplants that I bought at a local store. I had to limit the size of it to just what I could fit inside of an 8x8 dog kennel because I have a pot-bellied pig that would love to root it all up if she had the chance.

Since finding this site and learning about the raised beds, I've been able to double my garden's size by elevating a raised bed on top of wall bricks high enough to keep her out of it....I may add a couple more beds next year if it goes well.

Hopefully my thumb turns out to be more green than black, but I guess I'll find out soon enough. I can't wait to cook something with my own veggies...really looking forward to that.

Anyways, that's the basics of why I'm here and who I am. If you've got any questions, feel free to ask.

Thanks again for the welcome.

ecogirl
04-07-2009, 07:16 AM
Welcome!! Nice to meet you!

Sinfonian
04-07-2009, 10:01 AM
Welcome Dave,

Great to see you taking the initiative and growing your own. I agree tomatoes are pricy, and tasteless. Unfortunately you'll spoil yourself on home grown.

Great idea raising them higher than your pig can reach. I'd love to see pics.