PDA

View Full Version : Worm Bins, and the flies that won't go away.

N-TEXgardenLGS
04-16-2009, 09:25 AM
I wonder if anyone can help with this problem. I started a worm bin around 2 months ago. I kept the bedding thick to keep flies away but somehow after around the 5th week they came. I have since started the bin over and I keep it away from the kitchen and they seem to be controled in the bin but they are still in the house hiding somewhere. I have treated all of the plant soils and keep the food put away but they persist. What can I do to get rid of these pests?

Please forgive me if I have posted this wrong, it is my first attempt

thanks

N-TEXgardenLGS

mattuu
04-20-2009, 08:52 AM
Hello There N-TEXgardenLGS

I'm assuming you've just been using standard garden waste and vegetable scraps ?

Flies will only usually hang around if the decomposition of the waste is taking longer than the worms can digest the food at the bottom of the bin, or you've got meat or something in there that takes forever to decompose.

So I'd suggest maybe the worm population may be too low for the types of waste you're disposing. Adding a little garden lime to the mix will help get the worms extra hungry and has an added advantage of boosting worm egg laying numbers.

Be careful with the food types you do waste, things like carrot peel can be put in a blender with a little water or boil and blended with other waste and then put in the worm bin which will accelerate the decomposition. Adding onion or garlic is a no-no when it comes to worms; I made the mistake once of putting whole garlic cloves that had gone off in the worm farm and killed all of the worms in the entire bin.