PDA

View Full Version : My compost pile isn't composting..

Kittikity
04-24-2009, 02:11 PM
I've been tossing all the goats poo and spent hay, same for the rabbits, into a large pile.. I've been doing this for about 5 months.. I dug into it today and not really much is composted except for at the very bottom.. What can I do to get it to compost better? I haven't churned it or anything.. Was trying to let it warm up on the inside and do its job.. Should I be churning it more? Adding water? Something I can put on it that will help it to compost faster? I figured it would be a lot more composted by now..

Sinfonian
04-24-2009, 03:21 PM
Cold composting takes a while and results in limited finished compost at the bottom. It will not heat back up after the initial week or so when you made it.

Hot composting works much faster, but is work intensive. Not only do you mix the pile thoroughly every week or two, but you add water and green/brown materials regularly to keep the process going. A little research and some regular effort is pretty much all it takes to be successful at it.

Oh, and for a jump start, I like to add some used coffee grounds to the mix when aerating. The greens help heat things up when mixed with browns and air.

Good luck with your composting. Looks like you did cold composting perfectly.

Kittikity
04-24-2009, 03:28 PM
Ok, so I need to add more green stuff and more water.. The green stuff is easy as my husband will soon be mowing the yard the first time since last fall.. *looks at sky and taps foot* We should have started the rainy season by now.. Guess I will have to add my own water until the rains pick up.. Usually in the summer we have rain almost every afternoon.. So far we've had it maybe once a week.. I look forward to the afternoon rains as it can get very hot here and the afternoon rains help to cool things off a little..

Kevin
04-24-2009, 04:47 PM