PDA

View Full Version : Swine flu

ecogirl
04-27-2009, 03:48 PM
Have you heard about the news of swine flu! Luckily I don't own pigs! But this can spread. In the UK, it has been discovered that 2 people who have come back from holiday in Mexico have had swine flu but are now recovering well. I really am scared if I get swine flu! Eek! What are your feelings? Are you scared?

Fred's Fine Fowl
04-27-2009, 10:23 PM
This is a big test for the CDC and WHO...

We have watched swine for many reasons. I'm not going to lecture here, so no need to take notes :}

When I studied H5N1, Avian Influenza, the concerns regarding bird to human transmission are virtually non-existent and that meant that reasonable precautions, when handling dead animals (I'm on the reaction team for my State) were enough. This is because avian pathogens are far different than those which threaten humans...

Now... let's introduce the pig. It's a BIG deal... potentially... swine are a mixing pot and this is bad. We can indeed become ill from pigs and they from us. Where birds were concerned... again, the swine could contract a disease unique to birds... annnnd also human pathogens in one animal. That's a highly unlikely event, but IF, this were the case, then you would indeed potentially have human strains of the highly pathogenic influenza strains.