PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Orange County, CA

jeansun12
04-29-2009, 01:56 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm totally new to gardening and I'm starting some veggies in 5 gallon containers. I've had some blunders and wondered if someone could give me some help.

1) A month ago I bought a young tomato plant and transfered to the 5 gallon container. This morning I realized it had 2 stems. Opps...so I need to split it and I was wondering what is the best way to not damage the roots.

2) One day I mulched another tomato plant with cocoa beans ( yes it made contact with the stems ) and the following day, the young tomato plant was burnt where the stems made contact with the mulch. Why did it do that? I recall Patti uses cocoa mulch too!

Thanks again!

gardengirl72
04-29-2009, 08:59 PM
1) Yes you can split them. Make sure you plant the tomato plant deeply in the pot, stem and all. Take off the leaves that will be under the soil. The stem will grow roots.

2) The only thing I can think of is that you over watered.

Hope this helps.

pakrat
05-04-2009, 10:29 PM
Glad to know there are other gardeners in the OC. I live in the Mt. Saddleback foothills and am currently growing tomatoes in large containers as well. I have found that "fish emulsion" is a great help (but stinky). My husband uses Miracle Grow on the plants as well. What else are you growing this year? I hope it's not too late to plant cucumbers and pepper plants because I'm going to do that too.

plantoneonme
05-06-2009, 10:05 PM
Welcome to the group. The tomato plant that was burned by the cocoa mulch? wondering :confused: may be saved. I have accidently cut off otherwise healthy tomatoes and simply stuck them into water. In a few weeks, new roots developed and I was able to plant them out later. A little slower to give me tomatoes but I did get plenty in the end. Kim

jeansun12
05-14-2009, 09:15 PM
Hello fellow OC Gardener,