PDA

View Full Version : to use peat pots or not?

nnyxmfan
05-14-2009, 08:22 AM
i'm new to this and have seedlings started in plastic greenhouses using peat pellets for planting material. i've heard varying opions as to transplanting to larger peat pots before planting in our garden. so i'm not sure if we should or not any suggestions?

kitsapFG
05-14-2009, 08:57 AM
Well, it depends on what you have started in those pots and how long before the weather permits them to be planted out safely. I'll give you two examples:

Tomatos - they need to be started early to get big enough that they can then have enough time in the ground to bear and ripen fruit before the first frosts of fall. This means you start them quite a while before you will be able to put them safely into the garden and they are fast growers under good growing conditions. They will quickly out grow their pots but should NOT be rushed outside if the weather is too cold or unstable. So you repot them. Tomatos happen to be one crop that can be placed deeply in their new pots and they will grow more roots along the stem - so the repotting results in a even more sturdy plant ultimately (more developed root system).

Lettuce - is quick growing and can tolerate (cool but not freezing) weather. Since they are fast maturing and cold tolerant - they should be quickly hardened off and just planted out without any further repotting.

That's just two items given as an example - but I hope that gives you a sense of how you make the decision to repot - or not!

Sinfonian
05-15-2009, 10:42 AM
Whatever you do, remove the fabric from the pellet before planting. It takes forever to decompose and can hinder root growth. I still find fabric in my garden from 15 months ago.

nandmsmom
05-15-2009, 10:46 AM