PDA

View Full Version : Cuddling chicks?

alittletouched
05-25-2009, 01:34 PM
I have embarked on the quest of owning chickens. I have four chicks of varying ages. I have tried to get them used to me without handling them too much, but they don't seem to want it and it hasn't gotten any better. They hate being touched and they get rustled by my presence, no matter how much time I spend with them. Is this normal? Is there something I should have done or should be doing to encourage a mutual relationship? Or should I just accept that chickens are this way and that while I may talk to them, own them, care for them, and enjoy their eggs, that they just won't ever like being pet or too nearby me? This is my first time, so please be gentle!

kinnisoj
05-25-2009, 05:02 PM
One of the things that I did more for the kids than the chicks was when it was feed time myself and whatever kid happend to be their would sit down in the pen with the chick food and make them come to us. Hold it in your hand and they will come around. As with any jumpy animal move slow be calm and give it time.
The breed also has alot to with it and Im sure Fred could fill you in on that. But if you get a chance try the Buff Orpington. They are very loving, great egg layers so far and the roosters are very easy going.

swoop
05-28-2009, 12:59 AM