PDA

View Full Version : Greeings from Birmingham, AL

miaken
05-26-2009, 08:24 PM
Hello,
My name is Mia McDonald and I am new to the gardening family and I am very thrilled. I have planted a varity of items tomatoes, sweet potatoes, bell peppers (red, green & yellow), sweet peppers, cabbage, basil, cilantro, squash, zucchini, eggplant, and oregano.

I have a ton of questions, my garden is a 8ft x 4ft garden with all the above items...
1. have i over stuffed my garden?
2. I was told recently that tomotoes and sweet potatoes are not to be planted together is that true?
3. my basil looks to be dieing...the leaves are turning brown yellow on the bottom leaves and everyother leaf on top are turning brown. I have cut the top part I hope it comes back. I wonder if the browning is coming from a few things.. here in birmingham we have gotton a ton of rain I wonder if its too much for the basil, and if so maybe my soil is not draining well enough.
4. how do i get rid of bug that are starting to eat on the leaves of my plants?
5. how do i get rid of sluggs?
6. I have seen holes in the garden that looks like they enter through one hole and come out another :confused: not too sure what that is??? not to sure if you can help either :)

But for the most part I am really excited about this and hope it gives up plenty of veggies. if all i get is one tomoatoe I'm good. LOL

see my pics attached86

ecogirl
05-27-2009, 06:17 AM
Welcome to the community!

plantoneonme
05-27-2009, 11:00 AM
Hello,
My name is Mia McDonald and I am new to the gardening family and I am very thrilled. I have planted a varity of items tomatoes, sweet potatoes, bell peppers (red, green & yellow), sweet peppers, cabbage, basil, cilantro, squash, zucchini, eggplant, and oregano.

I have a ton of questions, my garden is a 8ft x 4ft garden with all the above items...
1. have i over stuffed my garden?
2. I was told recently that tomotoes and sweet potatoes are not to be planted together is that true?